July 12th - 22nd | 2017

Surrey Sports Park

Guildford | Surrey

Ottawa, Canada – The Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) has appointed Scott Teeter as the head coach for the national team that will compete in Guildford for the 2017 FIL Rathbones Women’s Lacrosse World Cup. Teeter’s appointment comes on the back of his successful tenure as Canada’s U19 coach which saw Canada win the Gold Medal, beating the USA in Edinburgh last summer. No Canadian coach, men’s or women’s has previously won an U19 Gold Medal.

There is a real value in having Teeter step up from the junior program to lead the senior team, explained Stewart Begg, Director of High Performance and International Relations for the CLA Board of Directors.  “Scott has a proven track-record of excellence in working with Team Canada.  He brings a tremendous amount of wealth and knowledge of our national sport and I feel confident that we are on the right path to gold; having Scott appointed as Head Coach of our senior team after the historic world BXJGOCDQQIJQGSH.20130503150417championship in August is definitely a competitive advantage for Team Canada.”

Commenting on his appointment Teeter said; “I am honoured and thrilled to have been selected as the Head Coach for the senior women’s national team. To be in a leadership role for the national team of your country is a tremendous responsibility and one that will not be taken lightly.”

He continued; “The CLA has shown an increased support of the national team program over the past few years, from the players through to the coaching staff. My appointment to the senior national team shows the value the CLA and the national team program has placed on coach development.  I am thrilled to be a part of what, I believe, will be a very dynamic, talented and athletic team in 2017. We will no doubt have an incredibly talented pool of players to choose from and I’m looking forward to learning more about them, assembling the coaching staff and building the support team necessary to help us win the world championship in 2017.”