2013 Ken Galluccio Cup

The annual Ken Galluccio Cup is scheduled to take place this weekend in Ghent, Belgium. Now in its sixth year, the tournament which is organised by the European Lacrosse Federation aims to bring together the league champions from each respective nation and establish a European champion.

The first tournament was held in Hamburg in 2008 where just five teams entered, this year’s tournament will see over 20 teams competing, something its founder Ken Galluccio would be very proud of.

Ken was a huge part of the development of Lacrosse within Germany and Europe and the tournament was largely his idea. Tragically he passed away in 2009; the tournament that he had helped to launch was re-named the Ken Galluccio Cup in his honour.

The inaugural champions Wilmslow Lacrosse Club have been the only English Team to host the tournament in 2010. 2010 also saw the introduction of the Women’s side of the championship, which was held separately in Prague. Since 2008 there have been a total of four championships with the tournament sadly not taking place in 2009 due to Ken’s death.

The 2013 tournament is a great reflection of the growth of the game here in Europe. This was recently supported by the FIL decision to award England both the 2017 and 2018 World Championships which highlights the importance of Europe as an international hub of Lacrosse.

The standard of competition is expected to be high in both the men’s and women’s championships, as the rapid development of Lacrosse in some of the more established countries has been catching with the standard of Lacrosse here in England. The tournament will also host new and developing nations such as Italy, Belgium and France in what should be a great showcase for European Lacrosse.

English representation at this year’s tournament will see Spencer (South England) and Stockport (North England) in the Men’s Championship, and Oxton (North England) in the Women’s Championship.

We will be bringing you a full report on all the action from the Ken Galluccio Cup next week.

2013 Ken Galluccio Teams

Women’s Teams Men’s Teams
Oxton (ENG) Stockport (N. England)
LLC Radotin (CH) Spencer (S. England)
Wettingen Wild (B) University College Dublin (IRE)
Amsterdam Lions (NL) Bocconi (IT)
DHC Hannover (GER) Farsta Cobras  (SWE)
Ghent Gazelles (B) Stuttgart (GER)
Celtic Lassies (SCO) LLC Radotin (CZ)
Baggataway Milano (IT) Red Rhinos (B)
Lille Spartiates (FRA)
Amsterdam Lions (NL)
Oslo Legends (NOR)
Edinburgh (SCO)


Past Men’s Champions

2008 – Wilmslow Lacrosse Club
2009 – Not Held
2010 – Stockport Lacrosse Club
2011 – Farsta Lacrosse Club
2012 – TJ Malešice

Past Women’s Champions

2010 – LLC Radotin
2011 – Wirral (Oxton) Lacrosse Club
2012 – Wirral (Oxton) Lacrosse Club