St Cats Captains

St Catherine’s Crowned Rathbones National Schools Lacrosse Champions

Rathbones National Schools Lacrosse Championships 2014

Friday 28th February 2014 is an important date in the history of Rathbones National Schools Lacrosse Championships. This day will be remembered as the day the school tournament became an event. Surrey Sports Park, Guildford provides a World Class facility, both for players and spectators. The Championships used 11 lacrosse pitches in immaculate condition, despite the local area suffering from flooding in recent weeks. Venue facilities’ including Starbucks and temporary refreshment stands ensured spectators and participants alike were fed, watered and sheltered. The Rathbones hospitality room provided everyone with a welcome respite from the bracing conditions with complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits.

The U19 Championships held over Friday and Saturday welcomed 53 schools, 1000 players and 1500 spectators. The top two schools from Friday’s sections were rewarded with a spot in Saturday’s Championships Division and a shot at the U19 Championship title. The remainder populated Divisions 1-3. This was new a format for 2014 and well received by all competitors.

Last years champions Godolphin performed well in the section stages, finishing Friday’s play as group leaders without losing a game and only conceding 7 goals in 5 games. 2013’s runners up LEH also played to form in the sections, unbeaten with a goal difference of 17.

Championship Division

Downe House
Moreton Hall
St Mary’s Calne
Putney High
Queen Anne’s Caversham
Wycombe Abbey
St Cats
Habs Askes
St Swithuns

Saturday began with pool games which determined the knockout schedule for the afternoon. The first round of the knock out stages saw Godolphin bid farewell to the 2014 Championships losing 2-3 to Wycombe Abbey. Katy Bennett coached Wycombe into the Semi Finals and narrowly lost out on a Finals Spot to St Catherines 1-4. LEH’s section stage form continued, Nicky Budd ensured her team reached the Final beating St Anne’s Cavesham (5-0), Guildford High (2-1) and Moreton Hall (3-2) along the way. Vic Alexander’s St Catherines reached the final after a close call in the quarters against St Swithuns (4-3). The Final was a close game, with both goalkeepers performing well; neither let a goal in during normal time. Extra time meant a golden goal. The final could have gone either way, both teams had opportunities to seal the win but an interception by St Cats proved to be the turning point as it led to the only goal of the game. St Catherine’s Bramley are the 2014 Rathbones National Schools Lacrosse Champions. 

Vivien Jones Memorial Award:    Mimi Ruiz (LEH)
MVP GK:    Zoe Parker (St Catherines)
MVP D:      Emily McDermot (St Catherines)
MVP M:      Taya Jackson (LEH)
MVP A:       Lauren Hurst (St Catherines)

U19 A Championships Div 3 Runners Up             Marlborough
U19 A Championships Div 2 Runners Up             Glenalmond
U19 A Championships Div 1 Runners Up             St Helens & St Katherines
U19 A Championships Div 3 Winners                  Westonbirt
U19 A Championships Div 2 Winners                  St Bartholomews
U19 A Championships Div 1 Winners                  Benenden

U19 B Championships Div 2 Runners Up             St Mary’s Calne
U19 B Championships Div 2 Winners                  St Swithuns
U19 B Championships Div 1 Runners Up             Wycombe Abbey
U19 B Championships Div1 Winners                   Guildford

Our partnership with Rathbones
Rathbones investment into the Championships has allowed English Lacrosse to grow the tournament. The U14 age category was added in 2013 and enjoyed a successful second year with 33 teams entering. This year we were able to add the U13 category. This has mirrored the success of U14, with 24 teams entered into the inaugural year. Godstowe and Packwood Haugh joined National Schools as the first prep schools to compete in the tournament and Ridgewood the first inner city high school to take part.

Congratulations to Guildford High who retained the U15A Championship title.

U15A     Guildford 3                 Downe House 1
U15B     Downe House 3           St Pauls 1
U14       St Catherine’s 4          LEH 1
U13       Guildford 3                 Benenden 1