England Lacrosse Seeded Ahead of Sunday’s EC2016 Pool Draw

Reigning champions Team England have been selected as one of four seeded nations ahead this Sunday’s (10th January) live 2016 ELF European Championship (EC16) pool draw which will take place in Budapest, Hungary at 4pm BST.

Team England will be joined by Ireland, Sweden and Netherlands who will be drawn in pools A to D. The European member nations voted to introduce a balanced pool format for this years championships, with teams drawn into four pools of six teams each. The top two teams from each pool will advance to the eight-team Championship Bracket.

The European Lacrosse Federation (ELF) also announced that 24 countries will participate in the 2016 European Lacrosse Championships (EC16), which will be held July 28 – August 6th in Budapest, Hungary.

The remaining teams will be placed into pots for random selection as follows:

POT 1: Germany, Scotland, Finland, Israel
POT 2: Czech Republic, Wales, Switzerland, Slovakia
POT 3: Italy, Norway, Belgium, France
POT 4: Spain, Latvia, Poland, Austria
POT 5: Russia, Denmark, Slovenia, Hungary

The seedings for pots have been determined by order of finish at the 2012 European Championships (EC12) which took place in Amsterdam, Netherlands. Each pool will feature one team from each pot, to achieve randomly selected pools of relative equal strength.

The seeded teams have been selected from the top four finishers from 2012 European Championships where Team England beat Ireland 15-5 to become the 8 time champions.

Team England could potentially meet Scotland, Israel or Germany in the groups stages. All three teams performed well at the 2014 FIL World Championships in Denver and are currently ranked higher than Sweden, Ireland and the Netherlands Internationally.

With 24 participating nations, EC16 marks the largest European Championship ever, as 96 total matches will be played over the 10-day event. A festival featuring developing lacrosse nations as well as club teams from across the world, as well as a women’s tournament, will also be held.