War of the Roses Game Confirmed

Lancashire (NW) and Yorkshire will be facing off at the Goodwin Sports Centre in Sheffield this Sunday in a cross-pennine fixture that was last played in the 1991/92 season. The two teams will be competing for the Brian Greenwood Rose Bowl. The Yorkshire County Lacrosse Association is hoping that this will once again become an annual event in the lacrosse calendar and may even reignite interest in the County Championship season, including Cheshire and South of England. The match will be played at Sport Sheffield , Goodwin Sports Centre, Northumberland Road, Sheffield S10 2TY at 14.00 on the 25th of October.

What is the Brian Greenwood Rose Bowl?
Before the Second World War there was a thriving Yorkshire County Lacrosse Association, which ran its own league competition. In season 1925/26 there were nine teams playing in the Yorkshire League, but the war saw almost the total decline of the game in the county.  In early 1950 Brian Greenwood, having sustained an injury playing rugby,  joined his brother Denis at the Leeds club, which was the only surviving Yorkshire club. The club then moved to Apperley Bridge and became Old Grovians.  Brian was one of the players, who revived the Yorkshire County Lacrosse Association in 1953 and became its Secretary and later President.

Brian and Denis were directors of their family business, Greenwoods Menswear, and continued to be strong supporters of lacrosse after their playing days ended. Yorkshire regularly played matches against representative teams from Lancashire, Cheshire, and the South of England, until the British National Tournament was started.  In the late 1990s Brian presented the County with the Rose Bowl  to be competed for by Yorkshire and Lancashire.  Unfortunately, because of the increasing popularity of the British Nationals it was not found possible to continue fixtures, until now.   

Yorkshire Squad

Manager: Phil Docherty

GK – James Clarke (Sheffield Steelers)
GK – Simon Jones (Sheffield Steelers)
D – Jason Jones (Wilmslow)
D – Tom Horsefield (Sheffield Steelers)
D – Elliot Coburn (Northumbria University)
D – Matthew Ball (Sheffield Steelers)
D – Stephen Warwick (Sheffield Steelers)
D – Tim Davidson (Sheffield Steelers)
M – Conor McDermott (Sheffield Steelers)
M – Tom Bracegirdle (SUMLC)
M – Ryan Forshaw (Northumbria University)
M – Reece Eagle (Leeds University)
M – Ben Lyon (Sheffield Steelers)
M – Will Hardy (Nottingham Trent University/Sheffield Steelers)
M – Isuru Fernando (Newcastle University)
M – Jamie Powell (Nottingham Trent University)
A – George Dale (Nothumbria University)
A – Daniel Jones (Sheffield Steelers)
A – Alex Williams (Leeds)
A – Alex Majd (Durham)

Lancashire (NW)