Wycombe Abbey crowned U19 2015 RNSLC Champions

The UK’s largest school sport event Rathbones National Schools Lacrosse Championships (RNSLC) took over Surrey Sports over 4 days last week. 3000 young lacrosse athletes competed for their schools and the chance to be crowned National Champions within their age group. A record crowd enjoyed the lacrosse and witnessed Wycombe Abbey win the prestigious U19 RNSLC trophy.

The event annually attracts players from over 56 schools to play in four different age groups U13, U14, U15 and U19.

This year’s Rathbones National Schools Lacrosse Championships saw Wycombe Abbey School lift the main honours wining the U19A Championship beating Lady Eleanor Holles 4-0 in the final.

In a fantastic display of lacrosse, the championship final was an exhilarating encounter between the two schools.

Wycombe Abbey executed a controlled and disciplined performance, dominating possession and limiting errors throughout the match.

Lady Eleanor Holles (LEH) were not without chances, their firebrand style of lacrosse created a number of opportunities in front of the Wycombe goal, but a standout performance from Claudia Denye kept them at bay.

Head of Lacrosse at LEH, Kirsty Eddison commented: “It is an absolutely amazing feeling to have been crowned the Rathbones National Lacrosse Champions and I am so incredibly proud of the team!”

“Throughout the season we worked really hard to develop a controlled game plan which we were able to execute effectively and confidently throughout championships.”

Wycombe captain Annabel Getley was equally delighted with her teams performance: “It is the most incredible feeling to win nationals with such a great team; I am so proud of the way everyone played and fought so hard throughout the tournament, and that it all came together for the final.”

Annabel was also named the tournaments best attacker alongside teammate Eleanor Wetton who collected best defensive player honours. Lady Eleanor Holles were not without recognition as captain Taya Jackson was awarded the best midfielder title and Benenden’s Tele Mobereola was also named best goalkeeper.

In the other division finals, Benenden clinched victory in the U19A Division 1 final beating Bedford 3-0. In the U19A Division 2 final, Stowe secured a well-deserved victory over Harrogate 4-1. And in the U19A Division 3 final, Claremont beat St George’s Ascot 4-3.

The U19B tournament, saw Guildford High beat St Swithun’s 1-0 to take the B competition Division 1 title and in the Division 2 final, St George’s Harpenden beat St Helen & St Katharine 3-2.

In the U15 tournament Lady Eleanor Holles bounced back from disappointment in the U19 tournament beating St Catherine’s 3-3 in a thrilling U15A Championship final. In the U15B final, St Catherine’s B beat Guildford High School B 1-0.

The U14s honors went to Guildford High who beat Lady Eleanor Holles 3-1. And in the U13s tournament, Berkhamsted School beat Guildford High School 4-0.

For a full break down of all the scores and final standings in the tournament please click HERE.

Rathbones National Schools Lacrosse Championships

In 2013 English Lacrosse partnered with Rathbones Investment Management, which has enabled the tournament to grow in size and relocate to Surrey Sports Park in Guildford.

The partnership has also allowed English Lacrosse to deliver the Rathbones Community Expansion Programme aimed at putting more coaches in front of more children across the country.

The programme has enjoyed increase in female participation over the last three years. At the U14 level the game has seen an extra 1000 girls actively participating in the game weekly. Between the ages 14-25 the game has seen an extra 2500 players start playing lacrosse.

IMG_0612 IMG_0623 IMG_0628 IMG_0630 IMG_0636 IMG_0653 IMG_0654 IMG_0665 IMG_0660 IMG_0672 IMG_0668 19091 19089 19087 19085 19083 19065 19059 19024 19013 IMG_0698