Berkhamsted School have been crowned the 2016 Rathbones National Schools Champions following a closely contested final against St Catherine’s Bramley.

Berkhamsted had to come from two goals behind after St Catherine’s attacked the game from the whistle and scored twice quickly. Berkhamsted were able to establish a foothold by the end of the first half.

Following good draw control they were able to score and reduce the deficit to one goal. Berkhamsted dominated the ball during the second period of the game, scoring two clinical goals.

The winning goal scored in the final minute, leaving St Catherine’s with no time to equalise. Berkhamsted enjoyed their victory all the more, as it is their first win at the Rathbones National Schools Championship in 16 years.

The 2000 winning team featured current head coach Jo Vila, who commented: “Winning the Rathbones National School Lacrosse Championship is really big for the school, we are working hard to make Berkhamsted a big lacrosse school again, so winning the U19 championship is a massive statement.”

Berkhamsted midfielder Immy Tyer won the prestigious Vivian Jones Trophy and a STX Crux-i for playing with spirit and endeavour throughout the championship.


Most Valuable Player Awards 

Tilly Shires (St Catherine’s Bramley) – Midfield

Izzy Yates (Berkhamsted) – Attack

Phoebe Smith (Berkhamsted) – Defence

Katie Jackson (Lady Eleanor Holles) – GK


2016 Rathbones National Schools Lacrosse Championships Results

U19 A

Championship – Berkhamsted School

Division 1 – Wycombe Abbey

Division 2 – Sherborne Girls

Division 3 – Rencombe College


Division 1 – St Paul’s Girls School

Division 2 – Queen Annes Caversham

IMG_8010 IMG_8015 IMG_8024 IMG_8027 IMG_8035 IMG_8046 IMG_8050 IMG_8058 IMG_8064 IMG_8071 IMG_8076 IMG_8080 IMG_8081 IMG_8091 IMG_8099