10 Team England U19 Athletes Selected for TASS Funding & Support

English Lacrosse are pleased to announce that 10 talented young athletes currently involved with Team England U19’s have been awarded TASS funding. The Sport England Talented Athlete Scholarship Scheme, better known as TASS, is a unique collaboration between the sport and education sectors that encourages and supports talented athletes who continue their education. Since 2004, around £39m has been invested to help nominated talented athletes develop athletically and educationally through the provision of:

  • Core support services – such as strength and conditioning, physiotherapy and lifestyle support provided through TASS accredited centres (TACs), which are usually Higher Education Institutions.
  • Athlete direct funding award – available to athletes to spend on sport-specific activities such as equipment, coaching, competitions, training camps and travel etc.
  • Partnership networking and practitioner CPD – The development of the TASS network and associated partnership activity between national governing bodies of sport (NGBs) and TACs. 

English Lacrosse Talent Manager Jane Powell is delighted with the announcement: I am delighted that Lacrosse has been recognised as a sport worthy of TASS funding. The consistency of talent delivery is key to this recognition and to have all our teams Senior Women 4th, U19 Women 3rd, Senior Men 5th, U19 Men 4th, Box Lacrosse 5th ranked in the World it shows a consistent rounded delivery program is in place. With the TASS funding and the partnerships that we can deliver with education and coaching at the heart it fits perfectly with our programmes. The TASS funded athletes will all be part of the U19 World Championships preparation for Canada 2016 and will help us gain a few of those marginal steps we need”

Athletes Rewarded

  1. James Pomfret
  2. Oliver Curtis
  3. Tim Collins
  4. Elliott Leonard
  5. Joseph Cara
  6. Alex Russell 
  7. Sam Dyson
  8. George Walker 
  9. Joseph Chorlton
  10. Thomas Thornehill

English Lacrosse would like to congratulate the athletes selected.