July 12th - 22nd | 2017

Surrey Sports Park

Guildford | Surrey

The 2017 FIL Rathbones Women’s Lacrosse World Cup will be hosted at Surrey Sports Park between 12th and 22nd July.

25 nations will compete for the title of World Lacrosse Champions. Pools of teams will be scheduled to play each other over the opening days of the event. During the knockout stages nations who performed well in the pool stages will progress to stay in the tournament during the quarter finals. All teams will play a final game to be awarded a final world position. This finishing position will be used to seed the nation for the World Cup in 2021.

The opening ceremony is on Wednesday 12th July, with host nation England taking on Wales in the opening game directly after the ceremony. Pool stages will be played until Tuesday 18th July. Knock out stages will culminate with the Final of the 2017 FIL Rathbones Women’s Lacrosse World Cup on 22nd July.



















World Cup Legacy

England hosted the first Women’s Lacrosse World Cup in 1982. At the time the International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Association (IFWLA) was the international governing body of the sport. Team USA defeated Australia to become the inaugural World Champions. A title they have only relinquished twice, on both occasions to Australia (1986 / 2005).

Since then (in 2008) the IFWLA and the International Federation of Lacrosse have merged to become the current international governing body for lacrosse, the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL). FIL govern’s five¬†world events, the Senior World Championship (Men and Women), the U19 World Championship (Men and Women) and the Indoor Lacrosse World Championship.