Cheshire hold back a resurgent Lancashire to retain the Referee’s Trophy

Cheshire has been crowned the 2014 Referee’s Trophy champions defeating Lancashire 9-8 at Wilmslow Lacrosse Club.

Now in its second year of the Referee’s Trophy being played in its current format the event has become the curtain raiser for the northern season and the second time Cheshire has won the title.

After a slow start, from both teams, Cheshire were the first to get on the score board and never lost the lead in a tight and closely contested game.

Lancashire rallied late in the fourth quarter and had a chance to take the game to overtime, however an excellent save from man-of-the-match and Poynton goalie Will Baxter ensured the title stayed in Cheshire for another year.

Cheshire goals came courtesy of Sean Wright (2), Sam Dexter (1), Greg Rowlinson (1), Matthew Boyd (1), Craig Bennett (1), Elliot Condron (1), Steve Ewing (1) and Will Baxter (1).

Lancashire goals came from Jake Weddell (2), Matt Collier (2), Dom Fitzgerald (2), Josh Kinder (1) and Mike Armstrong (1).